What are the criteria to receive a SEDW?

The youth and family must live in a community-based setting (not in a hospital, ICF/IID, nursing facility, correctional facility, or child caring institution) while receiving services. Other criteria include:

  • Be under 18 years of age
  • Reside in a foster home with a permanency plan
  • Live full-time in the community with their birth or adoptive parent, or with a legal guardian and eligible for Medicaid as a “family-of-one”

Show All Answers

1. What is a Serious Emotional Disturbance Waiver (SEDW)?
2. What are the criteria to receive a SEDW?
3. What screening tools are used to diagnose a SED and determine SEDW eligibility?
4. Who oversees SED waivers?
5. How do families apply for a SEDW?
6. Who is responsible for SEDW service coordination?
7. How are a child’s service needs determined?
8. Can individuals continue to receive SEDW services after the age of 18?